Breathing for the Brokenhearted

breathing-for-the-brokenhearted

Heavenly Father

It says in your word that you are close to the brokenhearted. Lord as someone who has experienced such deep brokenness I ask that you will fill my friends lungs with the ability to breathe deeper. Crying often feels like I’m gasping for air and fighting to keep my head above water. I feel numb and wonder if I can endure the pain. I wonder if something beautiful can come through all of this pain.

The answer is YES yet my heart has grown weary. So Lord I come before you and stand in the gap for my friends and ask boldly for you to send the Holy Spirit to comfort my friends.

I pray you will remind them that you are collecting all of their tears

Psalm 56:8 (NLT)

You keep track of all my sorrows.[a]
    You have collected all my tears in your bottle.
    You have recorded each one in your book

I pray you will remind them that those broken pieces will turn into a beautiful mosaic ONE DAY.

Isaiah 61:3 (NLT)

To all who mourn in Israel,[a]
    he will give a crown of beauty for ashes,
a joyous blessing instead of mourning,
    festive praise instead of despair.
In their righteousness, they will be like great oaks
    that the Lord has planted for his own glory.

I pray you will surround them with songs of praise so they can take their eyes off of the situation and back on you. Even if they are mad at you and all they want to do is cuss you out. Lord I pray they will utter the words of anger to allow for healing to begin and to stop bitterness from setting in.

Heaven Father the enemy likes to whisper lies in our ears that you don’t care about our heartache. However we are standing on the promise found in Psalm 34:18 and petition for you to help us breathe again. Lord I am partial to the Message translation for it’s how we talk to each other but I also like the New Living Translation.

The Message (MSG)

18 If your heart is broken, you’ll find God right there;
if you’re kicked in the gut, he’ll help you catch your breath.

New Living Translation (NLT) 

18 The Lord is close to the brokenhearted;
    he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.

No matter what translation we embed in our hearts, Lord I pray for my friends will begin to take deep breaths again. Lord I pray that you will make your presence known in such a way that healing becomes the path my friend takes. Lord I pray you will send hope and joy. Lord I pray for deep breaths of you to fill their lungs Lord. I ask all of this in the name of Jesus – AMEN

 

2 thoughts on “Breathing for the Brokenhearted

Leave a Reply

