PRIDE – You Know I’m Right Lord

pride

Lord Jesus,

Today I lift up myself and anyone else who struggles with pride. The ugly kind of pride where words like “You know I’m right Lord” come out of your mouth. Lord I love how we automatically believe that you are on our side and so our point of view is justified.  Lord I pray that when I am in those prideful moments that I will learn how to step out of conflict and not to destroy the character of the other person. Lord I pray I will not say all the mean spirited things going on in my mind. Lord you know my unbridled tongue is cruel and cut throat.  Lord help me to give myself a timeout.

Proverbs has some great verses about the impact pride can have in our lives.

Proverbs 13:10 (NLT)

Pride leads to conflict;
    those who take advice are wise.

Proverbs 16:18 (NLT)

Pride goes before destruction,
    and haughtiness before a fall.

Proverbs 11:2 (ESV)

When pride comes, then comes disgrace,
    but with the humble is wisdom.

Lord it’s during conflict that I will admit I start inserting my rights over others. I believe that my course of action is correct. I believe nothing the person could say or do would change. I become the victim who needs to avenge herself. Yet Lord you’ve told us that you will avenge us. You’ve commanded us to keep our tongue in check and to speak life not death over people. Lord you ask us to do the unthinkable, to love our enemies which means pride has no place in our heart.

Lord I pray I will not suppression the anger like a pressure cooker only to explode viciously in the next conflict. Lord I pray you will teach me how to resolve conflict in a honoring and humble way. Lord teach me how to forgive the person when my pride has been hurt. Lord teach me how to move pass that moment. Lord the cure for pride is love, so Holy Spirit teach me how to love unconditionally.

In Jesus Name I pray – AMEN

Leave a Reply

