Why I March

why-i-march

 

Heavenly Father

RAPE SURVIVOR – that is the reason why I am marching today. Even as I read those words the images from that night flood my mind in third person. I always picture it as an outer body experience. Lord I am taking a stand for all the women who are survivors like me who need stronger laws to prosecute their perpetrator. Lord I am going today to say – IT’S NOT OKAY!

Lord I pray for the women who are on their journey of healing. Lord it took years for me to heal and to let go of the shame.  Lord I pray they will not blame themselves. Lord I pray for the anger that comes and ask that you help them let it go. Send them an outpouring of your love and words of affirmation. Lord I pray for their future relationships that they will be able to be touched without flinching. Lord I pray they will discover the intimacy as it was intended to be.

Lord I pray for the women who are survivors of date rape – it was someone you trusted that raped you. I am living testimony that you are a God of restoration and healing. Lord you have taken my cold stone heart and made it flesh again. Lord I pray each survivor will one day forgive the man who violated her so she can be set free from that night of pain. Lord I pray for the girls on college campus who are told that if they didn’t wear certain clothes then mix messages wouldn’t have occurred. Lord I pray they will not subscribe to that lie and remember NO MEANS NO. Lord I pray for the woman that was drugged and didn’t have a voice at all and woke up to discover the horror of all that happen to her body.

Lord I pray we will take the time to learn the reason why people have decided to march. Lord I pray you send a hedge of protection around your daughters and sons. Lord I pray for all the prayer warriors walking that when we sense the Holy Spirit highlight folks that need prayer that we will be bold and speak life over them.

Lord I stand on the promise in Isaiah 61:3 (NIV) that you will turn our ashes into beauty.

    and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
    instead of ashes,
the oil of joy
    instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
    instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
    a planting of the Lord
    for the display of his splendor.

Lord I pray for an outpouring of your healing oil over all that are attending. Lord I pray they will see that YOU LOVE THEM and that you are with us. Lord I ask all of this in the name of Jesus – AMEN.

4 thoughts on “Why I March

Leave a Reply

