Love Is …

love-is

Heavenly Father,

Lord I am struggling right now BIG TIME.   Lord I can’t wrap my mind around the fact that some of my Christian friends are writing such mean spirited post. Lord I am so close to unfriending people on Facebook.  Lord the judgement is so intense that I’m like  “Where is the love in that statement?”

In John 13:34-35 it says

So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other. 35 Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.

Lord it breaks my heart to see the body of Christ hurting people with their words. Lord I pray they will learn how to pause before they hit send. Lord I pray they will ask the hard question does this edify or tear down the person. Lord will this give glory or bring you shame. Lord I pray they will take the time cover that person in prayer rather than send unkind words. Lord I pray they will remember that non-believers are watching them and for some they are the only bible they see in action. Lord I pray they will be a true reflection of who you called us to be. Lord I pray they will learn how to allow the Holy Spirit to show them how to exhibit true love.

Lord I love that you spell it out for us what true love looks like in 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 –

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (NLT)

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

 

Lord you have called us to love one another and not just the folks who agree with us, serve the same God as us or looks like us. Lord you’ve called us to love EVERYONE!

Mark 12:29-31 says:

29 Jesus replied, “The most important commandment is this: ‘Listen, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord. 30 And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’[a] 31 The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[b] No other commandment is greater than these.”

Lord I pray for those mean-spirited friends in my feed that you will remind them that you’ve called us to be love ambassadors. Lord I pray we will spend more time praying and asking for ways to partner with you than writing hateful messages.  Lord teach us how to be more relational with people who do not share our views. Lord you seek to have relationship with all of us. Lord I ask all of this in the name of Jesus – AMEN

Leave a Reply

