Realign My Focus

realign-my-focus

Heavenly Father,
Lord I have been reflecting on the story of David and King Saul when he was out to kill him. King Saul’s son Jonathan was having a hard time believing that his father would kill his dear friend David. Lord it was the spirit of jealousy that drove King Saul to obsess and spare no expense to go after David.

David was hoping that Jonathan could change the wrath of his father. Yet here is how the story went down:

1 Samuel 20:27 -32

27 But when David’s place was empty again the next day, Saul asked Jonathan, “Why hasn’t the son of Jesse been here for the meal either yesterday or today?”

28 Jonathan replied, “David earnestly asked me if he could go to Bethlehem. 29 He said, ‘Please let me go, for we are having a family sacrifice. My brother demanded that I be there. So please let me get away to see my brothers.’ That’s why he isn’t here at the king’s table.”

30 Saul boiled with rage at Jonathan. “You stupid son of a whore!”[d] he swore at him. “Do you think I don’t know that you want him to be king in your place, shaming yourself and your mother? 31 As long as that son of Jesse is alive, you’ll never be king. Now go and get him so I can kill him!”

32 “But why should he be put to death?” Jonathan asked his father. “What has he done?” 33 Then Saul hurled his spear at Jonathan, intending to kill him. So at last Jonathan realized that his father was really determined to kill David.

Lord I feel like David and I’m trying to convince my Jonathan friends that the President is pursuing the Mexican, Muslim, Refugees and Immigrants communities with a vengeance. He is making a huge stance that people of color are not to be trusted or valued. The Jonathan’s in my life keep trying to convince me that President isn’t a racist and he is doing this for the good of the country.

Lord my heart continues to break for the marginalized right now. Lord I pray I will take my eyes off the Jonathan’s in my life and realign them to where your eyes are focused – the marginalized. Lord I pray you will send me divine appointments to show your love. Lord I pray for the Mexican families who are living in fear of being harassed and deported from the land they call home. Lord I pray you will send them your peace and hope. Lord I pray for the children who were born in the US who are also at risk for being deported. Lord I pray you will help us stop the building of the wall.

Lord I pray the Syrian refugees who were scheduled to arrive here soon are now being denied access to the US. Lord we have seen and heard the cry of the Syrian refugees and the citizens of the US want to help. Yet the President sees the situation differently and stopped them from arriving to our land.  Lord I pray you will help find them a safe place until Lord YOU can help us lift this ban.

Lord I pray for the Muslims who have the right to worship their God in this country. Lord I pray you will open the eyes to of this administration that not all Muslims are part of the radical group called ISIS. Lord I pray for the women who are terrified to wear their hijab in fear that someone will attack them. Lord send your hedge of protection to surround them. Lord we need your divine intervention to help our country turnaround the horrific acts being done via executive order. Lord help the President to see our country was founded on democracy and not tyranny. I seal this lament prayer in the name of Jesus – AMEN

Leave a Reply

